Day Two hundred ninety-four:

Another rainy afternoon…

Today’s lone portrait session got cancelled.

It wasn’t supposed to rain today, but the weather patterns obviously changed.

I figured I would get my One photo at that portrait but it wasn’t to be.

Instead, I was surprised by what I found today.

I took a new camera out to run some film through it as a quick test and was out on the soggy patio taking some photos of the scene there.

At first I didn’t notice the yellow mantis (I believe that’s what it is — but I could be wrong) on the leaf.  It startled me and I did a double take — at first it blended in with the scenery but some movement must have caught me out of the corner of my eye.

What a little gift.

I finished with the other camera and went to grab the 5d m2 and the 50 for the blog.  I wouldn’t be able to get as close as I was with the other lens on the other camera, but I actually liked that this lens got me close enough, but also still allowed me to get some context with the leafs of the plant.

Again, being in action of making photographs led to a little pleasant surprise.

One thought on “Day Two hundred ninety-four:

  1. I absolutely LOVE this photo. That yellow mantis…is gorgeous. It’s almost like he’s looking at me as if to say, “Hiya! What’s up?”

    The raindrops on the scheffalera (I think) look great. I love the fade of the background to highlight the yellow visitor.

    Amazing what “gifts” you see when you start to look for them. Then they come in droves!!

    Thanks for this photo!! And…if you want to see rain and wind….come to WI. It’s like one of the most unusual weather patterns I’ve seen in eons!!

    Love,
    Peggy :=)

Leave a Reply

